RFY Coalition (Superteam)


RFY has a campus-wide "Superteam" comprised of faculty, staff, administrators from all three colleges, RISS, Faculty Senate, and Student Affairs. RFY is a clearing house for all first-year initiatives. The RFY seeks to connect all efforts to the Graduation Initiative (GI2025), University Strategic Plan, WASC accreditation, and Academic Tactical Plan (ATP) using a "top down, bottom-up" coordinated approach to include the campus in the process. 


The coalition formed 3 subcommittees to transform HSU, develop plans and enact change. The subcommittees are Basic Needs, Student Learning Communites/First Year Experience and Professional Learning Communities. These subcommittees meet regularly over the summer to develop proposals and a work-plan for 2017-2018 academic year. 


Over the last 2 years, the RFY Coalition has studied the first-year best practices and developed proposals for initiatives on campus. These have included block scheduling, area E course development, Learning Communities for students and faculty/staff, basic needs and safety of our students, developing sense of belonging on campus, inclusive pedagody, first-generation student success, family programming, meta-majors, communication acroos the curriculum, and coordinated support are we offering those of us who interact daily with first-year students, among many other topics peretinent to first-year students. 

RFY Superteam Members:

  • Alexander Enyedi - Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 
  • Alison Holmes - Program Leader for International Studies Program
  • Clint Rebik - Office of the Registrar
  • Cherly Johnson - Executive Director for Diversity, Equity & Inlcusion
  • Cyril Oberlander - Dean of the University Library
  • Dale Oliver - University Ombudsperson and Professor of Mathematics Department 
  • Jennifer Maguire - Professor of Social Work and Student Emergency and Food programs
  • Jodie Baker - Curriculum Coordinator 
  • Jason Jones - GI 2025 Team Member
  • Josh Smith - Department Chair for Chemistry and Physics
  • Julia Alderson - Professor of Department of Art
  • Kathy Thornhill - Academic and Career Advising Director
  • Kim Vincent-Layton - Instructional Designer and College of eLearning
  • Kyle Leitzke - Academic and Career Advising Center Advisor 
  • Laurie Richmond - Assistant Professor of Environmental Planning Graduate Faculty
  • Lisa Bond-Maupin - Dean of College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Lisa Castellino - Associate Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Lisa Tremain - Professor of English and Director of the Writing Program 
  • Linh Pham - Cell/Molecular Biology Student 
  • Peggy Metzger - Director of Financial Aid
  • Manohar Singh - Dean of College of Professional Studies
  • Marguerite Powers - Administrative Support Coordinator
  • Mary Glenn - Associate Dean for the College of Professional Studies and Chair in Department of Anthropology 
  • Matthew Johnson - Professor of Department of Wildlife 
  • Paula Petersen - Adminstrative Support Coordinator for University Senate
  • Radha Webley - Associate Vice President for Retention and Inclusive Student Success
  • Rama Rawal - Equal Opportunity Program and Student Support Services Advisor 
  • Ramona Bell - Associate Director for the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Richard Boone - Dean of the College of Natural Resources and Sciences
  • Stephen St. Onge - Director of Housing and Residence Life
  • Taylor Sorrels - Administrative Support Assistance for Academic Affairs 
  • Tracy Smith - Retention through Academic Mentoring Program (R.A.M.P) Director